Ain't It Cool News (
Movie News

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society announces the winners of the Annual Sierra Awards.

Tis the season to be j... compiling lists of "The Best of...". So Father Geek is here posting for all of you yet another critics awards list. These lists are cool, I enjoy reading them and debating their merits, or the films' merits that is. Anyway here's what the critics in Las Vegas think...

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society is proud to announce the winners of its yearly awards recognizing outstanding achievement in film. The members of the LVFCS have selected the drama "Erin Brockovich," as the best motion picture released during this, the final year of the 20th Century.

Also honored was Geoffrey Rush ("Quills") as Best Actor and veteran Ellen Burstyn ("Requiem for a Dream") as Best Actress. Director Steven Soderbergh took top honors as well for "Erin Brockovich" and "Traffic."

In recognition for his 40 year-plus career as a screenwriter and author, the LVFCS is proud to name William Goldman as the recipient of this year's William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award.

In honor of their outstanding efforts in restoring the classic Alfred Hitchcock film "Rear Window", James C. Katz and Robert Harris, are being recognized by the Las Vegas Film Critics Society. The pair spent two years and $700,000 restoring the thriller in honor of the late Master of Suspense's 100th birthday.

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society is proud to give special recognition to Sen. Richard Bryan. A native of Southern Nevada, Senator Bryan's distinguished career in public service has spanned more than three decades, culminating with two terms in the U.S. Senate. His commitment to making Nevada a prime destination for motion picture production has been unparalleled.

Winners will be honored in a ceremony, scheduled for February 23rd in Las Vegas.

Complete listing of the LVFCS 4th Annual 'Sierra Awards' winners:

Best Picture: "Erin Brockovich."

Best Actor: Geoffrey Rush, "Quills."

Best Actress: Ellen Burstyn, "Requiem for a Dream."

Best Supporting Actor: Benicio Del Toro, "Traffic."

Best Supporting Actress: Kate Hudson, "Almost Famous."

Best Director: Steven Soderbergh, "Erin Brockovich," "Traffic."

Best Original Screenplay: Susannah Grant and Richard LaGravanese, "Erin Brockovich."

Best Screenplay Adapted from Another Medium: Steve Kloves, "Wonder Boys."

Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, "O Brother, Where Art Thou."

Best Film Editing: Pietro Scalia, "Gladiator."

Best Score: Hans Zimmer, "Gladiator."

Best Original Song: "Things Have Changed," Bob Dylan - from "Wonder Boys."

Best Foreign Film: "Girl on the Bridge" (France)

Best Family Film: "Chicken Run."

Best Documentary: "The Life and Times of Hank Greenberg."

Best Costume Design: Janty Yates, "Gladiator."

Best Visual Effects: "Gladiator."

Best Male Newcomer: Rob Brown, "Finding Forrester."

Best Female Newcomer: (tie) Karyn Kusama, Writer/Director - "Girlfight";Michelle Rodriguez, Actress - "Girlfight."

Youth in Film Award: Jamie Bell, "Billy Elliot."

Best DVD: "Gladiator," Dreamworks Home Video

Best Las Vegas Movie Theater: Century Orleans 12.

William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award: William Goldman.

For further information on the LVFCS and it’s programs, please direct all questions and comments to:

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society:

c/o Jeffrey K. Howard: 3430 S. Valley View Blvd, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89102. (702) 220-5073, Fax (702) 362-9561

Readers Talkback
comments powered by Disqus