Ain't It Cool News (www.aintitcool.com)
Comics

AICN COMICS SHOOT THE MESSENGER: PREVIEWS - HOOD! TRANSFORMERS! DARKNESS! GODLAND! ROBOT 13! & MUCH MORE!

@@@@ Spinner Rack Previews: TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN! IMPALER! GODLAND! GHOST RIDER! ROBOT 13! SPARROW: JOHN WATKISS! NOVA! ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN! SAINT CARRIE OF THE DIVINE PAGEANT! THE DARKNESS! BACK TO BROOKLYN! THE HOOD! @@@@



What’s SHOOT THE MESSENGER?

Well, AICN COMICS: SHOOT THE MESSENGER is your weekly one stop shop for comic book -EWS. What’s comic book –EWS? Well, it’s our hodge-podge of everything not reviews here at AICN Comics. Sure you can find out the @$$Holes’ critical opinions of your favorite books every Wednesday at AICN Comics. But here, you’ll find special reports such as previews, interviews, special features, and occasionally news gathered here from our online brethren at Newsarama, CBR, Wizard, etc. Sure those guys are the best at reporting news as it breaks. Click on the links for the original stories. This column cuts the crap to run down all the vital information for those of you who don’t follow it as it comes in, and serves it all up with that special ingredient of @$$y goodness.


Hey folks, Ambush Bug here with another bundle of joy that we collected from the Spinner Rack to the Future for this week. Remember, comic book fans, comics come out on Thursday this week due to the Memorial Day holiday. Don’t be that guy who comes in on Wednesday and leaves with nothing but empty hands and a soul full of shame. So let’s dive right into it, shall we?


TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN MOVIE ADAPTATION #2 Writer: Simon Spurrier Art: Jon David-Hunt Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: This Thursday!



Sure, the first film was big, loud and obnoxious, but for some reason I feel compelled to see the sequel. And the preview of this book makes it even harder to resist. I guess I’m a sucker for a popcorn brain-number. Check out TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN MOVIE ADAPTATION #2 this Thursday!


IMPALER #3 Writer: William Harms Art: Matt Timson Publisher: Top Cow Release Date: This Thursday!


From the very first issue of the very first series, I was hooked on this graphic horror mixture of 30 DAYS OF NIGHT and 28 DAYS LATER. This new series is just as phenomenal with art that makes you shiver and drool. Check out IMPALER #3 this Thursday!


GODLAND #28 Writer: Joe Casey Art: Tom Scioli Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


I’ve been meaning to check out this Kirby-esque cosmic epic for ages, but haven’t yet. But these preview pages are making it hard not to pick up this series. Fun old school stuff, this one looks to be. GODLAND (with I knew how to make that cool looking O!) #28 comes out this Thursday!


GHOST RIDER #35 Writer: Jason Aaron Art: Tony Moore Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


Everyone who is anyone is saying that Jason Aaron is the future of comics. He’s been burning up the pages in SCALPED and getting his mainstream on at Marvel with GHOST RIDER for a while now. Looking for dark and gritty? Check out GHOST RIDER #35 this Thursday!


ROBOT 13 #1 Story: Thomas Hall Art: Daniel Bradford Publisher: Blacklist Studios Release Date: June 6th @ the MOCCA Festival in NYC


Fans of HELLBOY, ATOMIC ROBO, and THE GOON take note, there’s a new quirk-ified hero in town. This looks to be an uber-fun series and the design of the hero and monsters are too cool to miss. Check out the Blacklist website for more info on how to get this damn fine book.


SPARROW: JOHN WATKISS Art & Cover: John Watkiss Editor: Ashley Wood Publisher: IDW Publishing Release Date: This Thursday!


Some art is just meant to be drooled over. John Watkiss makes that type of art. His soulful representations of melancholy women shown in this preview are an art lover’s dream. Love comics for their art? Check out the SPARROW series. JOHN WATKISS’ issue is in stores on Thursday!


NOVA #25 Writer: Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning Art: Kevin Sharpe (pencils), Jeffrey Huet & Nelson Pereira (inks) Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!



Bar none, one of the consistently best comics Marvel puts out. Abnett & Lanning are doing for NOVA what Johns did with GREEN LANTERN. Those of you who aren’t checking this one out should be ashamed of yourselves. NOVA #25 is out Thursday!


ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN #16 Writer: Robert Kirkman Art: Jason Howard Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


Haven’t checked out this series since the very first issue, but Kirkman seems to be bringing the game here that he has been consistently doing with THE WALKING DEAD month in month out. It might be worth picking up an issue of ASTOUNDING WOLF-MAN to see if it’s worth it. Issue #16 hits the stands on Thursday!


SAINT CARRIE OF THE DIVINE PAGEANT Free six page story! Story: Brian Andersen Art: Michael Troy Publisher: www.sosuperduper.com Release Date: Right here, right now! Just follow the link!


Not your typical mainstream stuff; I admit and it may not be everyone’s cup o tea. But I’ve found that almost anything showing up on www.sosuperduper.com is worth a chuckle of three. You can read more big gay super hero adventures on www.sosuperduper.com.


THE DARKNESS #77 Writer: Phil Hester Art: Michael Broussard Publisher: Top Cow Release Date: This Thursday!


As usual, I find the art on THE DARKNESS to be fantastic. A lot of eye-candy to enjoy and with Phil Hester in the driver’s seat, the book is in some amazingly capable hands. Check out THE DARKNESS #77 this Wednesday! Just kidding! It’s out this Thursday!
Had you goin’ there, didn’t I?


BACK TO BROOKLYN #5 Writer: Garth Ennis & Jimmy Palmiotti Art: Mihailio Vukelic Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: This Thursday!


This has been an authentically fun reading experience. Palmiotti’s strength as a writer really grounds some of Ennis’ more offbeat and obnoxious tendencies here and the result is the best of both writers presented with some phenomenal art. This is an all around powerful miniseries and I can’t wait to see how BACK TO BROOKLYN ends this Thursday with issue #5.

DARK REIGN: THE HOOD #1 Writer: Jeff Parker Art: Kyle Hotz Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: This Thursday!



One of the best miniseries Marvel has put out in the last fifteen years returns. We’ve got the original artist, Kyle Hotz, back on board. But even though it’d be ideal to see Brian K. Vaughan back writing, Jeff Parker is more than capable of writing a compelling story about this tortured anti-hero. DARK REIGN: THE HOOD #1 is in stores…yep, you guessed it, Thursday!


Editing, compiling, imaging, coding, logos & cat-wrangling by Ambush Bug Proofs, co-edits & common sense provided by Sleazy G


Ad by Prof. Challenger
Readers Talkback
comments powered by Disqus
Top Talkbacks
Trending